Dan Lyons

Special People EP

Thursday 9th May 2019

Photo by Shannen Long.

Dan Lyons, the former Fat White Family drummer is set to release his new 12" record on 10th May 2019. The EP, titled 'Special People' is being put out on Futureproof Records. Fresh from supporting Pete Doherty & The Puta Madres on select dates of his UK tour this May, a release party for the EP will be held at The Windmill, Brixton to celebrate. A show at Elsewhere in Margate, where Dan resides, will follow on the 18th May 2019. 

You can pre-order 'Special People' here.

Dan comes from a musical family and as such, has always been surrounded by music. As well as the Fat White Family he has also drummed for notable London bands Phobophobes and more recently Misty Miller. However, he has always written his own songs and played the guitar as well. A couple of years ago, after experiencing loss, meeting some new people and spending some time in Paris, Dan decided to take control of the music he was making.

Full of Dan's distinctly British affectations and inflexions the EP takes you on a whistlestop tour of great songwriters with various generations all accounted for; influences from Syd Barrett and Marc Bolan to Dan Treacy, Morrissey and Pete Doherty all pull to the fore and are fed through his personal brand of melancholic psychedelia. As his wonderful cover of ‘Waiting For The Man’ by the Velvet Underground perfectly highlights.

The EP’s third track, Gargoyle, was released as a single by Dan in 2018 and credits Sean Lennon as co-writer. Dan and Sean met through a mutual friend at SXSW back in 2014 and Sean wrote some lyrics after Dan played him the melody while they were hanging out in his hotel room.

01. Special People
02. Waiting For The Man
03. Gargoyle
04. Home
05. Seaside Politics

Check out our Playlist & interview with Dan Lyons here.

Loading bag contents...