Fat White Family

Serfs Up!

Thursday 17th January 2019

Photo by Duncan Stafford

Fat White Family have announced that their third album 'Serfs Up!' will be released Friday 19th April 2019 via Domino Records. Promising it to 'mark the most gratifying and unexpected creative volte-face in recent musical history.'

'Serfs Up!' follows their acclaimed 2016 album 'Songs For Our Mothers'. In the interim band members have been keeping busy with various other musical projects including The Moonlandingz, Insecure Men and Warmduscher.

The new album was originally teased online with a medieval-inspired video directed by Niall Trask, a fitting theme when the title is revealed and how they have chosen to spell Serf. Referencing a form of servitude/bonded labour popular in feudal Europe. Watch it below.

'Feet' is the first track you can hear from the new record and also acts as the album's opener. As promised it's a noticeable departure from anything they've previously released, although it retains an undercurrent of their trademark sleaze, making it feel like a natural progression of their sound.

'Feet' certainly heralds a new era for the band, in just a single track you can start to distinguish the new direction; incorporating lots of elements from New Wave and the darker sides of Glam and '80s Pop. Listen below.

'Feet' Official music video. Directed by C.C. Wade.

After releasing 'Songs For Our Mothers' in 2016, core band members Lias, Nathan and Saul relocated to Sheffield to write and record the new album, subsequently finishing it in late Autumn 2018. In the interim, they took the journey back down the M1 to London's 100 Club to headline at a SubcultureLive gig. A journey well documented by photographer Duncan Stafford in the gallery below.

1. Feet
2. I Believe In Something Better
3. Vagina Dentata
4. Kim’s Sunsets
5. Fringe Runner
6. Oh Sebastian
7. Tastes Good With The Money (ft. Baxter Dury)
8. Rock Fishes
9. When I Leave
10. Bobby’s Boyfriend 

'Serf's Up!' will be available on CD, standard or ltd edition transparent red vinyl or as a digital download. You can pre-order it at smarturl.it/SerfsUp.

Loading bag contents...