1991: The Year That Punk Broke


Saturday 15th October 2011

October 2011 will see the re-birth of a band who paved the way for Nirvana and played a massive part in shaping acoustic music today; Sonic Youth. ‘Hits Are For Squares', previously available only through limited outlets and the DVD debut of ‘1991: The Year That Punk Broke’ are to be released on October 31st via Universal Music.

‘Hits Are For Squares’ A collection of songs from Sonic Youth's career curated by a diverse group of artists, actors, directors and musicians whose own progressive and unconventional style is akin to the freestyle expression of Sonic Youth’s music. The artisans handpicked by Sonic Youth include Beck, Mike D, Radiohead, The Flaming Lips and many more. TRACKLIST 1. Bull in the Heather (selected by Catherine Keener) 2. 100% (selected by Mike D) 3. Sugar Kane (selected by Beck) 4. Kool Thing (selected by Radiohead) 5. Disappearer (selected by Portia de Rossi) 6. Superstar (selected by Diablo Cody) 7. Stones (selected by Allison Anders) 8. Tuff Gnarl (selected by Dave Eggers and Mike Watt) 9. Teenage Riot (selected by Eddie Vedder) 10. Shadow of a Doubt (selected by Michelle Williams) 11. Rain on Tin (selected by Flea) 12. Tom Violence (selected by Gus Van Sant) 13. Mary-Christ (selected by David Cross) 14. World Looks Red (selected by Chloe Sevigny) 15. Expressway to yr Skull (selected by The Flaming Lips) 16. Slow Revolution (new track, exclusive to this compilation 2011 marks the 20th Anniversary of 1991: The Year Punk Broke, a pivotal film centered on the lives and experiences of the band during their 1991 European festival tour. The film documents their headline tour as they introduced a new breed of bands who were on the verge of taking on the world and forever changing the course of music. The DVD not only captures Sonic Youth's live performances of songs such as “Dirty Boots,” “Teenage Riot,” "Kool Thing” and "Schizophrenia,” it offers a unique and rare behind-the-scenes look at daily life on the road. Filmed a month prior to the release of their breakthrough album Nevermind, '1991: The Year Punk Broke' also includes footage of Nirvana unknowingly on the cusp of leading a massive cultural movement as they performed anthems such as “Smells Like Teen Spirit," “Polly” and “Negative Creep.” Also featured is Dinosaur Jr.’s (“Freak Scene” and “The Wagon”) and Babes In Toyland’s “Dustcake Boy” as well as an appearance from legendary punk forefathers The Ramones and their 1977 classic “Commando.” 1991: The Year Punk Broke is also packed with 65 minutes of bonus material, including the previously unreleased featurette “(This Is Known As) The Blues Scale” featuring over 40 minutes of additional live footage of Sonic Youth performing “White Kross,” “Eric’s Trip,” “Chapel Hill” and “Inhuman,” plus a rare Nirvana performance of “In Bloom.” In contemporary day where Guettafied club orientated dance music dominates the charts and the common ear, this package is absolutely essential in remembrance of the visceral and exciting acoustic times that once were. Nick Otter.


Loading bag contents...