Bobby Gillespie Presents

Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down

Thursday 17th December 2015

It's that time of year when many of us will be regretting our determination to have a good time on the night before, and when asking how someone feels on the morning after can be something of a loaded question. Luckily, Bobby Gillespie has curated a wonderful album of songs that will act as a musical Alka-Seltzer for the spirit. 

"When David Holmes asked me if I wanted to compile an album of some of my favourite songs for Ace Records I jumped at the chance. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for years. I hope you have as much fun listening to it as I had putting it together."

The album casts off gently with psychedelic revolutionaries 13th Floor Elevators' "May The Circle Remain Unbroken" hat-tipping to the Americana standard.

Three songs from The Beach Boys pay tribute to the influence that the Primal Scream front-man claims that Brian Wilson et al had on the recording of "Screamadelica". The Byrds, Dion and Gene Clark all get mentions before resting on John Barry's "Midnight Cowboy", which again is given credit for inspiring an instrumental on "Screamadelica"

The opening line to Kris Kristofferson's "Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down", which lends its title to this splendid compilation opens with its perfect depiction of hungover despair - "Well I woke up Sunday Morning with no way to hold my head that didn't hurt". Bobby Gillespie states in his sleeve notes "The lyric is incredible. I believe he wrote it when he split up with his first wife. For Primal Scream he has always been a guy we looked up to as a songwriter – someone you would aspire to be like, inspiring. There’s a loneliness and sadness to Kris’ songs that I love, that hits me deep."

The compilation takes in Gram Parsons and Tim Buckley among its greats before Bobby shares a conversation he had with Ronnie Wood - a unique insight into the recording of "Breathe On Me".

"There’s a real damaged, burned-out feel to this track that I’m absolutely in love with. I love the fact that it’s Keith on bass. It sounds a bit wrong, like the drums are wrong, and slightly off kilter, but it somehow falls into the groove and it works."

You'll have to get the album to read it all!

As well as some American classics and psychedelic deep cuts there is also a Primal Scream song nestled within the track-listing, namely their delightfully darker version of The Jesus And Mary Chain's 'Darklands'.

"Primal Scream had a real purple patch at the end of the 90s. We had the “Vanishing Point” album and we did the dub album of “Vanishing Point”, which was called “Echo Dek” on which Adrian Sherwood did the dub. Between “Vanishing Point” and “Extrmntr” we released a 12-inch EP on which Kevin Shields of My Bloody Valentine mixed ‘If They Move Kill ’Em’. So we had two mixes of that, Shield’s remix, Brendan Lynch’s extended disco mix and on the other side we recorded ‘Darklands’, the Mary Chain song, and then we did a dub of ‘Darklands’ called ‘Badlands’. The EP was too long for a single, so it went into the album charts at #8."

"All I can say is that I’m very proud of it. I think to cover a song written by your friends and a band that you love so much, you’ve basically got to give a good account of yourself, you’ve got to really do it well, also change it and make it your own. I think we achieved that. I’m proud of it and I think it fits into this record."

'Bobby Gillespie Presents Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down' is out now via Ace Records.

Bobby Gillespie Presents Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down - full track listing
1. May The Circle Remain Unbroken - 13th Floor Elevators
2. ‘Til I Die (Alternate Mix) - The Beach Boys)
3. Forever (A Cappella Mix) - The Beach Boys
4. You’re Welcome - The Beach Boys
5. Wild Mountain Thyme - The Byrds
6. Born To Be With You - Dion
7. American Dreamer - Gene Clark
8. Midnight Cowboy - John Barry
9. Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down - Kris Kristofferson
10. Ice People - Link Wray
11. As We Go Along - The Monkees
12. Love Hurts - Gram Parsons
13. War In Peace - Alexander “Skip” Spence
14. Phantasmagoria In Two - Tim Buckley
15. Any Way That You Want Me - Evie Sands
16. Willin’ - Little Feat
17. Breathe On Me - Ronnie Wood
18. Darklands - Primal Scream
19. Precious Memories - Willie Nelson
20. Over The Rainbow - Jerry Lee Lewis

Related Links

Bobby Gillespie - Special Guest DJ at Sub-Sonic Live marking 25 years of Heavenly Recordings


Loading bag contents...