North Atlantic Oscillation - New Album


Thursday 23rd February 2012

Representing Scotland solidly in this year's live space-rock revival are North Atlantic Oscillation, with their second album "Fog Electric", set for release on 30th April via Kscope. It is preceded by sample track "Savage With Barometer", a dense five and a half minute slab of astro-noise and filtered vocal, which can be streamed below.

Based in Edinburgh, North Atlantic Oscillation are Sam Healy (vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards, programming) and Ben Martin (drums, synths, programming). They are joined live by Bill Walsh (bass, vocals) and Chris Howard (bass & synths).

"Fog Electric" boasts excellent studio pedigree, recorded and co-produced by Tony Doogan (Super Furry Animals, Mogwai, Teenage Fanclub, Belle & Sebastian) and is the follow-up to debut album "Grappling Hooks", released in 2010, which saw all manner of journos and broadcasters slapping it on the back with praise.

Tour dates will be announced soon, but in the meantime you can get in line for a one-off show featuring tracks from the new album at The Tabernacle in London, on Wednesday 2nd May. Support comes from Sunn O))) collaborator Mothlite (Daniel O'Sullivan).


Loading bag contents...