Sharon Van Etten


Tuesday 22nd November 2011

Sharon Van Etten will release her new album, "Tramp", on the hot Bloomington, Indiana label Jagjaguwar on 7 February, 2012. Originally from suburban New Jersey, Van Etten relocated to New York and made a name for herself in the city’s indie folk scene. Her debut album for the Language of Stone label, 2009’s "Because I Was in Love", received strong reviews and won the singer-songwriter a devoted cult following. Her 2010 sophomore record Epic, released by Ba Da Bing Records (also Van Etten’s management company), was a more rock-oriented affair that widened her audience considerably.

Since Epic’s release, Van Etten has performed at the Pitchfork Music Festival, opened high-profile shows for Neko Case and The Antlers and collaborated or recorded with Beirut, Ed Askew and Bon Iver front man Justin Vernon. Tramp was recorded at Aaron Dessner’s (founding member and guitarist of The National) home studio over the last 14 months, when Van Etten was traveling heavily and without a real home base. Dessner was a Sharon Van Etten fan from early on, and even covered a song from Epic in collaboration with Vernon. After supporting The National on 13 December at New York City’s Beacon Theatre, Van Etten will tour behind "Tramp" as support for Shearwater (10 February-25 February) and The War on Drugs (20 March-1 April). Tramp track list: 1. Warsaw 2. Give Out 3. Serpents 4. Kevin's 5. Leonard 6. In Line 7. All I Can 8. We Are Fine 9. Magic Chords 10. Ask 11. I'm Wrong 12. Joke or a Lie


Loading bag contents...