Southern Culture on the Skids


Monday 7th November 2011

Long running North Carolina rockabilly band Southern Culture on the Skids celebrated Halloween in grand style by reissuing their 1998 EP Zombified via Kudzu Records and Yep Roc. Zombified, originally available in the states only as an Australian import, has been expanded to a full LP with the addition of five new tracks.

The new album finds Southern Culture on the Skids doing what they does best: celebrating trash culture with a keen focus on the low budget horror films that screened at U.S. drive-in theaters in the 1960s and 70s.

The original tracks on Zombified have been re-mastered for release on CD and limited edition blood red vinyl, with sleeve art by Sean Starwars and design by Yee-Haw Industries. Song highlights include the slow burning “She’s My Witch,” a swampy cover of Creedence Clearwater Revival’s “Sinister Purpose,” the bluesy “Devil’s Stomping Ground” and the galloping “Idol with the Glowin’ Eyes.” ??Rick Miller, guitarist and singer for Southern Culture on the Skids, issued a statement on behalf of the group: "You know the Zombified EP never had a proper U.S. release and the band is excited about it happening now as a full album.

Zombified track listing:
1. Zombified
2. Undertaker
3. Swamp Thang
4. She's My Witch
5. Bloodsucker
6. Sinister Purpose
7. Torture
8. Devils Stompin' Ground
9. Bats Are Sleeping
10. Idol with the Glowin' Eyes
11. The Creeper
12. Eyeball You Later
13. Primitive


Loading bag contents...