Monday 2nd April 2012

Formed in Chicago and now based in Grand Rapids, Michigan, Stepdad is built around producers/songwriters Ryan McCarthy and Ultramark and their shared love of early-mid 80’s synth-pop. Last year’s Ordinaire EP celebrates the likes of Tears for Fears, Howard Jones and Erasure with gleeful abandon.

Stepdad toured behind the release of Ordinaire (adding bassist Alex Fives and drummer Jeremy Malvin to the official line-up), supporting Fitz & the Tantrums, Passion Pit and Rubblebucket on regional outings.

On 12 June, Stepdad will be releasing their debut LP, Wildlife Pop, via Black Bell Records. The album will feature a couple of tracks that first appeared on Ordinaire, namely the icy “Jungles” and “My Leather, My Fur, My Nails,” which marries new wave keyboards and Beach Boys vocal harmonies quite nicely. Wildlife Pop was produced by Chris Zane (The Walkmen, Les Savy Fav) and recorded in NYC.

Stepdad have recently added multi-instrumentalist Nathan K. to the fold and will begin a tour this June that will take the band all over the U.S. through early August.

Wildlife Pop' Track listing:

1. Must Land Running
2. Jungles
3. Show Me Your Blood
4. Mystery in the Faking
5. Will I Ever Dance Again
6. To Ribbons
7. My Leather, My Fur, My Nails
8. Pick & Choose
9. Starfriends on Earth
10. Treasure Hugs
11. Exploring
12. Warrior (Jungles Part 2)


Loading bag contents...