Suede unveil more "Bloodsports" album details


Wednesday 16th January 2013

In an announcement that was perhaps understandably eclipsed by news of the first new material from David Bowie in over ten years, Suede, also recently announced an end to a decade of recording silence, promising a new album, "Bloodsports" for 2013.

The band have temporarily sated fans with a free download of album track, in the form of "Barriers". Brett Anderson said: “After a year of sweating and bleeding over the record it's finally finished so we wanted to get some music out there as soon as we could. "Barriers" isn't the first single but we are proud of it enough just to chuck it out there and thought that it's pulsing, romantic swell somehow summed up the feel of the album quite nicely. The album is called Bloodsports. It's about lust, it's about the chase, it's about the endless carnal game of love. It was possibly the hardest we've ever made but certainly the most satisfying. It's ten furious songs for me have reclaimed from ourselves what Suede was always about; drama, melody and noise.”

Predating, and outliving, the relatively short lived Britpop era they have become associated with, Suede sit alongside The Charlatans as one of the few truly enduring bands of the last twenty years, and if "Barriers" is anything to go on, they will continue to be so.

"Bloodsports" will be released on 18th March 2013 with new single "It Starts And Ends With You" to be released on the same day.

The full track listing is as follows:
01. Barriers
02. Snowblind
03. It Starts And Ends With You
04. Sabotage
05. For The Strangers
06. Hit Me
07. Sometimes I Feel I’ll Float Away
08. What Are You Not Telling me?
09. Always
10. Faultlines


Loading bag contents...