The Moons - Heart and Soul


Friday 14th March 2014

‘…The Devil makes work for idle hands; your time is wasted searching for the man…’ THE MOONS

‘Heart and Soul’ is released 31stMarch via Schnitzel Record, the brand new single from British band The Moons and taken from band’s new long player ‘Mindwaves’ released 21st july.

Evoking the flamboyance of 70’s era glam rock, ‘Heart and Soul’ tips its hat to the heroes of that period from Bolan and Bowie to Mott the Hoople and Sweet. Yet, this is unquestionably a story about modern day Britain that dips its toes in both the vintage and the contemporary.

Mixing Joe Meek style production with the best of the glitter rock era, ‘Heart and Soul’ is an ode to a scorned lover. Devilish rhythms blend fuzzed guitars with chugging T-Rex-esque riffs, with singer Andy Crofts’ subversive words, “You can’t make a fool out of me”, defiant.

As Crofts puts it, “Heart and soul is about a girl, a temptress who pulls you in with her looks and spits you out. A girl who reaches into your heart and soul and takes all the good out of you and then moves on to her next victim.”

Formed in Northampton 2008, The Moons is the ideas of singer/guitarist/songwriter, Andy Crofts. With two critically acclaimed albums to date, ‘Life On Earth’ (2010) and ‘Fables of History’ 2012 (produced by The Moons and Stay Kybert), The Moons are purveyors of the great British pop song. 

Crofts’ songwriting craftsmanship deals with typical modern day life. With a mixed melting pot of melody, texture and influence, The Moons are honest songwriting personified with exquisite arrangement and glorious production which harks back to a golden era in classic songwriting.

Lauded by The Kinks’ Dave Davies and The Zombies’ Rod Argent, they have performed live on the BBC for the Janice Long and Mark Lamarr shows and their incessant touring has seen them build a loyal fanbase with sell-out shows up and down the country including the 100 Club, London.

The video to ‘Heart and Soul’ was made by acclaimed director Joe Connor who has worked with the likes of The Courteeners, Feeder and Band of Skulls.

The eagerly anticipated new album, ‘Mindwaves’, is released 21st July on Schnitzel Records.

The Moons are: Andy Crofts – Vocals/guitar, Ben Gordelier – Drums, Ben Curtis – Bass and Chris Watson – Guitar 

Spring tour dates:
25 - HULL, Fruit
26 - YORK, Duchess
28 - STOCKTON, Georgian Theatre
29 - DUNDEE, Buskers

03 - NOTTINGHAM, Bodega Social
04 - LEICESTER, Soundhouse
05 - BRISTOL, The Lanes


Loading bag contents...