The Penderyn Music Book Prize 2018

The UK-based book prize specifically for music titles

Thursday 5th April 2018

The Penderyn Music Book Prize is the only UK-based book prize specifically for music titles including history, theory, biography and autobiography. Previous winners include Jon Savage's '1966: The Year The Decade Exploded' in 2016 and Daniel Rachel’s 'Walls Come Tumbling Down' in 2017, with previous judges including such notable figures as Thurston Moore. This year's judges include Jason Williamson (Sleaford Mods), Jah Wobble, James Sclavunos (The Bad Seeds) and comedian Simon Day.

The shortlist for the 2018 Penderyn Music Book Prize has been announced including such esteemed musician turned authors as Billy Bragg (pictured), Chris Difford of Squeeze and Cosey Fanni Tutti of Throbbing Gristle.

The full shortlist is:
Roots, Radicals and Rockers: How Skiffle Changed the World by Billy Bragg
First Time Ever: A Memoir by Peggy Seeger
Art Sex Music: by Cosey Fanni Tutti
Sticky Fingers: The Life and Times of Jann Wenner and Rolling Stone Magazine by Joe Hagan
Some Fantastic Place: My Life In and Out of Squeeze by Chris Difford
Memphis 68: The Tragedy of Southern Soul by Stuart Cosgrove
Uncommon People: The Rise and Fall of the Rock Stars 1955 - 1994 by David Hepworth

The winner will be announced on 8th April at the Laugharne Weekend Festival. 

For more information follow the Penderyn Prize here

Read our playlist with last year's winner, Daniel Rachel, along with an extract from Walls Come Tumbling Down here.

Loading bag contents...