PJ Harvey

The Hope Six Demolition Project

Wednesday 13th April 2016

PJ Harvey is set to follow up her Mercury Prize winning 2011 album 'Let England Shake' with her new album 'The Hope Six Demolition Project'.

'The Hope Six Demolition Project' is scheduled for released on April 15th via Island / Vagrant Records.

The new album draws from several trips undertaken by Harvey, who spent time in Kosovo, Afghanistan and Washington, D.C. over a four-year period. On making the album Harvey has said:

“When I’m writing a song I visualise the entire scene. I can see the colours, I can tell the time of day, I can sense the mood, I can see the light changing, the shadows moving, everything in that picture. Gathering information from secondary sources felt too far removed for what I was trying to write about. I wanted to smell the air, feel the soil and meet the people of the countries I was fascinated with.”

Watch the album trailer by award-winning photojournalist and filmmaker Seamus Murphy featuring below:

The album was recorded last year in residency at Somerset House, London. The process of recording and producing the album was done as a performance piece, entitled 'Recording in Progress'. The exhibition saw Harvey, her band, producers & engineers working in a recording studio behind one way glass, which was purpose built for public audiences to be able to observe them.

'The Community of Hope' is the second single taken from the forthcoming album video and was again directed Seamus Murphy. Drawing on footage filmed during the aforementioned time spent in Washington, D.C. Watch it below:

PJ Harvey and her 10-piece band will perform a number of festival dates across Europe this summer, please find details for these dates; along with 'The Hope Six Demolition Project' tracklisting; below.


1. The Community of Hope
2. The Ministry of Defence
3. A Line in the Sand
4. Chain of Keys
5. River Anacostia
6. Near the Memorials to Vietnam and Lincoln
7. The Orange Monkey
8. Medicinals
9. The Ministry of Social Affairs
10. The Wheel
11. Dollar, Dollar

Tour Dates

June 4 - Primavera Sound, Barcelona, Spain
June 5 - We Love Green Festival, Paris, France
June 7 - Release Athens, Athens, Greece
June 8 - Zorlu Performing Arts Centre, Istanbul, Turkey
June 10 - Primavera Sound, Porto, Portugal
June 12 - Field Day, London, United Kingdom
June 17 - Sideways Festival, Helsinki, Finland
June 18 - Ahmad Tea Music Festival, Moscow, Russia
June 20 - Zitadelle Spandau, Berlin, Germany
June 22 - INMusic, Zagreb, Croatia
June 24 - Down The Rabbit Hole, Beuningen, Netherlands
June 26 - Glastonbury, United Kingdom
June 27 - Eden Sessions, Cornwall, United Kingdom
June 29 - Open’er Festival, Gdynia, Poland
June 30 - Roskilde Festival, Denmark
July 2 - Rock Werchter, Werchter, Belgium
July 3 - Beauregard Festival, Herouville St Clair, France
July 7 - Pohoda Festival, Trenčín, Slovakia
July 8 - Harvest of Art Festival, Vienna, Austria
August 11 - OYA, Oslo, Norway
August 12 - Way Out West, Gothenburg, Sweden
November 6 - Iceland Airwaves, Reykjavik, Iceland

Related Links


Photography by Maria Mochnacz


Loading bag contents...