John Carpenter's Lost Themes


Tuesday 16th December 2014

News of what promises to be a unique release for early 2015. Film director, John Carpenter, creator of such modern classics of popular cinema as Halloween (and its sequels), The Fog, They Live and Escape From New York, is to release an album of original compositions via acclaimed independent label Sacred Bones (release date 3rd February 2015).

The first track to emerge from the album is the excellent 'Vortex' which you can listen to below, or via a randomly generated video made up of clips pulled form some of Carpenter's films, including some moments of horror.

Besides directing, John Carpenter is known for composing much of the heavily atmospheric music for his iconic films. With his signature motifs of repetition, punctuated electronic soundscapes and sonic minimalism, Carpenter's soundtracks have often been cited as a key influence by many of those working in music over the last four decades. Those seeking alternative sources of inspiration to those available on the dancefloors of discotheques found what they needed in the subcultures of cinema instead.

“Both classical music and rock and roll are part of my musical language, which is riff-driven,” Carpenter explains. “So if you listen carefully, I’m sure you can hear some echoes from my past. But I’m sure that’s true of any composer. You just bring your music along with you.”

Expanding on the intent of the album Carpenter says, “...They’re little moments of score from movies made in our imaginations. Now I hope it inspires people to create films that could be scored with this music.”

Those wanting to fire up their imaginations can start with the ominous one word song titles listed below...

John Carpenter's Lost Themes - track listing:
1. Vortex
2. Obsidian
3. Fallen
4. Domain
5. Mystery 
6. Abyss
7. Wraith
8. Purgatory
9. Night

Find out more and preorder Lost Themes at

Follow John Carpenter on Twitter at @TheHorrorMaster


Loading bag contents...