The Damned

40th Anniversary of the first British Punk album

Thursday 16th February 2017

On 17th February 2017, The Damned will release a 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition of their debut LP 'Damned Damned Damned'.

Originally released by Stiff Records on 18th February 1977 it is considered the first British Punk album - pre-dating The Clash's self-titled debut and any other albums released by the first wave of British Punk acts like the Sex Pistols or The Stranglers.

The release will be issued by BMG as part of their new series called 'The Art Of The Album'. The series aims to refocus attention on the album as a format, by re-releasing classic and seminal LP's 'that broke new ground in concept, production, songwriting and genre, leaving a lasting legacy as a complete album work of art.'

Music Video for The Damned's debut single 'New Rose'

Talking about the original recording of the album, founding member and bassist/guitarist Captain Sensible said in a press release -

 “'Damned Damned Damned’ was almost 'un-produced' by our Stiff stablemate Nick Lowe, who managed to capture the energy of our live set spectacularly.  Nick was known as ‘Basher’ as there was no messing about. It’s fairly manic, but also tuneful and, listened to now, still sounds pretty fresh to my ears….  The guitars don’t sound nice – they’re a raw, fuzzed-out thrash – that’s punk rock. Pathway was a rough and ready studio round the back of an Islington garage.  It was so dark and dingy in there – you had to be careful or you’d knock your beer over.  The sessions took two days, after which the tape was recycled for an Elvis Costello album so there’s no chance of a remix…  Not that you’d want one – it’s perfect!”

The anniversary edition of the album has fully re-remastered audio and new sleeve notes written by John Ingham. The new notes cover the story of the album - its conception, creation, recording, release and impact. This was done through exclusive interviews with original members Dave Vanian, Captain Sensible, Brian James and Rat Scabies.

Track Listing:

01. Neat Neat Neat
02. Fan Club
03. I Fall
04. Born To Kill
05. Stab Yor Back
06. Feel The Pain
07. New Rose
08. Fish
09. See Her Tonite
10. 1 of The 2
11. So Messed Up
12. I Feel Alright

The band are also about to commence recording of their first album of brand new material in almost a decade, which is set for worldwide release in 2017 - more on that soon.

They are also about to embark upon a large world tour including New Zealand, USA, Canada, Hong Kong & Japan. Full dates and ticket information can be found at


Loading bag contents...