Johnny Marr

Set The Boy Free

Thursday 3rd November 2016

Photograph by Jon Shard

Set The Boy Free is the autobiography of Johnny Marr, guitarist and co-songwriter of the iconic Mancunian band The Smiths.

Marr's post-Smiths career has seen him play in bands such as The The, Modest Mouse, The Cribs and even The Pretenders briefly. He formed supergroup Electronic with Bernard Sumner of New Order in the 90s, has had a string of acclaimed of solo records and continues to be one of the most highly sought after session musicians around.

Marr's innovative guitar work has paved the way for a host British guitar bands throughout the 90s, 00s and now, he's constantly name-checked as a personal hero by Noel Gallagher and bands like Suede, Blur, Radiohead, Arctic Monkeys and Blossoms (to name but a few), are all able to trace their musical lineage back to The Smiths and Johnny Marr.

This is the first time that he has written about his life, the creation of The Smiths and his immeasurable impact on British music and culture.

Set The Boy Free will be released on Thursday 3rd November.

For your chance to win a signed copy of 'Set The Boy Free' head over to our Facebook and Twitter pages.

To view Johnny Marr's Subculture Playlist, interview and hear him read an exclusive audio extract of the book - click here.

Twitter: @Johnny_Marr
Instagram: @JohnnyMarrGram


Loading bag contents...